Bayworld

No. 7 Castle Hill

Situated in the city centre, Number 7 Castle Hill is a local historical folk museum dating back to 1832. It was declared a National Monument in 1962.

The house was built by an Irish clergyman, Reverend Francis McCleland, on land bought in November 1827 for £3.3.0 (three pounds and three shillings). This picturesque cottage, built in the Georgian style, is one of the oldest remaining dwelling houses in Port Elizabeth. It is furnished in an early Victorian style – 1840 to 1870, to reflect nineteenth-century domestic life in Port Elizabeth. The collection of mostly English furniture and domestic objects was largely donated.

The Historical Society restored the house in 1965, and it was opened as a museum in 1968. It is an extension of Bayworld/Port Elizabeth Museum in Humewood.

Tours on request

Staff will provide general tours or special interest tours on request. To arrange this, please contact +27 (0)41 582 2515.